A tweet farewell

As you may have gathered, I have been away for the past month.  With only intermittent wifi access, and a long-overdue need for some downtime, I tried to take a complete break from work.  Of course, I was not completely successful in this aim: I did sneak peeks at my emails, and (when I thought no-one was looking) at my daily Google alerts on the topic of “money laundering”.  The one source I was never tempted to check was Twitter.  And – as is often the way on holiday – I started to reassess my working life, on the basis of “if you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always got”.

I start every day with a scan of my email – which usually contains a few links to relevant news stories, as I subscribe to several alerts – and then a search of the BBC News website using the term “money laundering”.  If I see anything that tickles my AML fancy, I consider how to share it: as a headline on the Newsroom page of my website, as a Tweet, or – occasionally – as a direct email to someone to whom I think it is particularly relevant.  When I thought about how I made that decision, I realised that I was using Twitter mainly to spread ML/AML “gossip” – stories saying “it is alleged that”, or someone “is suspected of involvement in”.  And when I came back from holiday I carefully read all the email alerts that I had received over the past month, but did not bother going back even one day on Twitter, as I knew it would all be – literally – old news.

In all honesty, Twitter does not suit my character.  I am not a fast-moving creature: I prefer slow and steady.  Even in my spare time, when I give myself over to writing fiction, it’s fiction set in the past, where everything has already happened and I can take my time over considering its impact and implications.  When I was in Canada and occasionally turned the telly to Bloomberg, all of those fast-moving panels and scrolling ticker-tapes of information made me feel dizzy.  I initially started Tweeting in a professional capacity because “everyone is doing it”.  But it turns out that they aren’t: the majority of my clients work in offices where Twitter is not permitted, so anything I post in a hurry at 0915 is unlikely to be seen – if at all – until they get home that evening, when it will have been overtaken by a surfing dog and the latest fashion faux pas of some tweenie singer.  Indeed, on Twitter I have only 377 followers, compared with over a thousand subscribers to this blog.  So from now on I’ll leave the tweeting to singers Katy Perry (102,891,671 followers) and Justin Bieber (99,762,866), and ex-pres Barack Obama (94,125,360).  From today I will not be tweeting, apart from the automated tweets that appear whenever I post on this blog, which is confusingly circular.

This entry was posted in AML, General thoughts, Money laundering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tweet farewell

  1. JKM says:

    I didn’t know you were on Twitter! I’d definitely have followed. Possibly an advertising issu?

Leave a Reply

