So that’s who you are!

Well, that was quite an adventure!  My first ever SurveyMonkey survey – and how generous you all were with your time.  I ran my little survey for only two weeks, and in that time 215 – 215! – of you responded.  I asked eight questions only, and said that it would take less than five minutes.  So here’s survey finding number one: after removing two “outliers” who took more than six hours (I assume they went away to make a cup of tea, or just fell asleep at their desks), on average you took 6 minutes and 39 seconds to complete the survey.  The Usain Bolt of responders took a mere 2 minutes and 3 seconds.

Survey finding number two concerns your locations.  I offered “my” six familiar jurisdictions (UK, Guernsey, Jersey, the Isle of Man, Alderney and Gibraltar) plus “other”, and said that you could be in more than one place at once (in terms of your AML responsibilities).  The majority – 94 of you – are in Guernsey.  62 of you are in the UK, and 43 in Jersey.  18 are in the Isle of Man, 13 in Gibraltar and 5 in Alderney.  The “other” locations given include the US, various European countries, Dubai, Hong Kong, Cayman Islands, St Lucia, BVI, Australia – and the Duchy of Cornwall.  (Your replies are anonymous, but I think I know who that is… and no, it’s not Prince Charles.)

Next I asked about the sector in which you mainly work and – cruelly – I forced you to pick just one.  Here’s the pretty pie chart showing the results (the sectors are shown alphabetically, reading clockwise from 12 o’clock):

The big sectors for responses are fiduciary (26.5% of responses) and banking (22.8%).  My shyest sectors are legal (2.8%) and law enforcement (0.9%).  But I am most interested to see that I have no responses at all (that’s 0.0% – diddly squat, in technical terms) from the estate agency sector.  See how they are missing between “banking” and “fiduciary”.  That means that not one estate agent MLRO anywhere in the world reads my blog – or at least, reads it and wants to take part.  I’m saddened, but not surprised.

And as for your AML-ish roles (you could pick more than one), 111 of you admit to being an MLRO or deputy MLRO, while a further 73 hold non-MLRO compliance roles and 36 are directors.  In the “other” category, we have partners, managers, analysts, administrators, regulators, investigators, trainers and one “total peasant” who obviously knows his/her place in the AML community.

So that’s the scene set: tune in next time for the really meaty questions and their responses.

This entry was posted in AML, Money laundering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So that’s who you are!

  1. Stuart Wallace says:

    Interesting. I can’t wait for the second instalment. Talking of the shyness of estate agent MLROs, I notice that TI have just published a report which identifies top 10 money laundering loopholes allowing secret companies to flood key real estate markets: ” Doors wide open: corruption and real estate in four key markets”. http://www.transparency.org/whatwedo/publication/doors_wide_open_corruption_and_real_estate_in_four_key_markets

  2. Pingback: Power to the AML people | I hate money laundering

  3. Pingback: The law is just the law | I hate money laundering

  4. Pingback: The AML rank and file | I hate money laundering

Leave a Reply

