Now you see it…

My husband (who subscribes to this blog – well, we need something to talk about over dinner) commented the other day that my posts are much longer than they used to be.  He’s right: my early posts were about 200 words long, and recent ones are averaging 500 words – that’s inflation for you.  It could also be that I’m growing more wittery with age…  So today, here’s a nice concise post for you.

On 18 July this year, the Financial Conduct Authority published its own list of high risk jurisdictions.  This caused something of a hoo-hah, not least on this very blog.  The FCA promised to update its list regularly.  Which it has done.  By removing it.  Now that’s what I call ferocious editing – I could learn a lesson.

That’s your lot: 136 words.

This entry was posted in AML and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now you see it…

  1. James Barclay says:

    Morning Susan,

    I have just checked with the FCA and they have confirmed that the original July publication is currently under internal review. I have asked if the FCA could possibly publish on the main news section of their website some form of update so as MLRO’s such as myself might be better able to understand what’s happening, considering that the FCA list of High Risk jurisdictions seems to be at odds with those published by the FATF, the EU & HM Treasury.

    Best regards

    James

    *From:* I hate money laundering [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] *Sent:* 09 September 2014 10:48 *To:* jamesbarclay@galvan.co.uk *Subject:* [New post] Now you see it…

    ihatemoneylaundering posted: “My husband (who subscribes to this blog – well, we need something to talk about over dinner) commented the other day that my posts are much longer than they used to be. He’s right: my early posts were about 200 words long, and recent ones are averaging 5”

  2. Dear James
    Well done you! What did the FCA say? We’ll keep our collective eyes peeled for any updates. Egg on many FCA faces, I fear.
    Best wishes from Susan

  3. David Maxwell says:

    Thoreau (I think) said: “Not that the story needs to be long, but it will take a long while to make it short”.

  4. That’s absolutely right, David – much harder to be concise than verbose. I think that’s why we all love Oscar Wilde so much – he used words so sparingly and cleverly.
    Best wishes from Susan

Leave a Reply

