What do you want from my website?

I hope that you will forgive me for hijacking today’s post to ask for your help.  Over the weekend I was looking at my company website (www.thinkingaboutcrime.com) and it occurred to me that it might be due for a revamp.  So please could I ask you: what do you want from a website such as mine?

In answering this, please bear in mind a couple of things:

  • I am a one-person business, so my technical department is, well, me – and totally non-technical, come to that.  So we might all wish for lots of fancy graphics and media clips, but it ain’t gonna happen.
  • I am rather fond of the blue circles motif, which is replicated across all of my company material, so I’m not looking for new logo suggestions, gorgeous though they may be.
  • I am not planning to sell anything via the website (as I am not a credit card merchant) – the link on my Publications page goes to places like Amazon, which are sellers.

So: can you find the information you want on the website (if you ever go there)?  Do you actually look at the Stop Press page, which is the one I try to update every day?  If you’re looking for something specific (e.g. my contact details, or the services I offer), can you find that information quickly and easily?  Are there common features of other websites that you expect to find and do not find – if it’s a case of coming up to modern standards so as not to look too “£80 quid and a plastic lid to you, granddad”, I can always find someone techie to do it for me.  Does the website behave as you would wish – my husband tells me that opening a new tab for every new page is now very old-fashioned.  (Mind you, he rides a 1957 Humber bicycle, so he’s one to talk.)

Many thanks for any comments or suggestions, and normal money laundering-related posting service will be resumed on Wednesday.

This entry was posted in Money laundering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do you want from my website?

  1. Kay says:

    I’ll be honest Sue, I didn’t even know about the Stop Press page, so maybe that could do with a little more prominance. Also, the link to your blog on the left hand side of your home page still goes to the old blog. Gets me every time.

    I do feel that, considering you have such a great product, and a lot of respect for your training delivery, the overall look of your website could maybe do with being brought up to date a bit to put you in your rightful place amongst the competition – especially now there are so many ‘do it yourself’ sites out there that can look like a professional company has played a part.

    Having said all of that, i haven’t even got round to starting my website and i’ve been talking about it for the last 3-4 years, and when i do, i’ll have to pay someone as i’m about as techie as my dog, so i’m not really in a position to comment 🙂

  2. Hello Kay
    This is all terrifically useful – thank you. I had no idea that my Stop Press page was so hidden – and it’s the place where I put most effort! Must do something about that – so grateful that you pointed it out. And the blog link – I had to leave it there for a while, until people stopped wanting the “old” blog, but that time has long passed.
    And yes, it does look at bit tired now (rather like the webmistress behind it…) – I’ll start looking for ways to update it.
    Best wishes from Susan

Leave a Reply

