The piggy gets his passport

Isn’t the Internet an astonishing tool?  The other day I received an email from a boy I have not seen since my last day of school in Singapore (June 1984, to save you working it out – we’re talking shoulder pads and leg-warmers, often sadly in the same outfit), so I suppose he’s probably a grown man by now.  He said he recognised me on LinkedIn from my name (hard one to forget) and my big grin; we were on the same school bus every morning and afternoon, and he said that I was always smiling.  (Well, I loved school – girlie swot.)

Anyway, as chance would have it, he is now living back in Germany (what with being German and all – his name is Robert, which is German for Robert) and has done a stint working in compliance and AML.  “I like the look of the piggy books,” he said, “but why don’t you do an international edition for all the rest of us who don’t work in the UK or its related islands?”  *Slaps forehead*  What a terrific idea!  Much as Ned the AML piggy loves Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man, he has hinted that he might like to travel further afield.  So in between doing the final edits on my novel, I am now internationalising the pig.  I’ll let you know when it’s published – come on, have you ever known me not to tell you when I have a book coming out?

This entry was posted in AML, Publications and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The piggy gets his passport

  1. Claire says:

    Oh, I remember the shoulder pads! The bigger, the better! Yes, send Piggy off to Monaco. The traveling Pig! 🙂 Just remember that in some countries he might have to wear a bit more than just sun glasses, or he’ll end up in jail.

  2. Ned tells me that he has all sorts of destinations in mind – he’ll end up much better travelled than I am!
    Best wishes from Susan

  3. Pingback: For the global NED in your life | I hate money laundering

Leave a Reply

