Ned completes his world tour

Ned tells me that he was mobbed by groupies when he landed at Ronaldsway Airport in the Isle of Man last night – apparently the shades were no disguise, and there was lots of squealing.  Yes, “Anti-Money Laundering: A Guide for the Non-Executive Director (Isle of Man Edition” is now on sale – which completes the quartet.  The IoM is slightly more complicated than the other jurisdictions that Ned has visited (UK, Guernsey and Jersey) as it has two regulators, but thanks to some good friends on the island, he was able to steer a steady course through the Codes and guidance.

While I was writing about the IoM, I bumped up against a common area of concern for me: how to refer to things in the right way, to avoid offending or upsetting the locals.  For instance, is it IOM or IoM?  On the advice of a contact in Douglas, I plumped for the latter. When I visit Gib, I call it Gib because the locals do – but have to be very careful to avoid the word “island” (look at a map, and you’ll see that Gib is actually an isthmus, joined to Europe by a thin thread of land – on which the planes land).  It’s not that I think people are so insecure that they will drum me out of the place for getting it wrong; it’s more that I want to show that I have cared enough to find out, and that I don’t want to come over all imperial by imposing my UK-speak on other jurisdictions.  And Ned, of course, aspires simply to be a pig of the world.

This entry was posted in AML, Money laundering, Publications and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ned completes his world tour

  1. Tess says:

    Moylley dhyt!

  2. For those who are less than fluent in Manx, I think this means Congratulations! Many thanks, Tess – hope you and Ned get on well!
    Best wishes from Susan

  3. Tess says:

    I can assure you – my fluency begins and ends with a good online translator!!!

Leave a Reply

