AML I want for Christmas is…

To help Father Christmas on his rounds this year, I have put together my list of AML wishes:

  • A government-issued and internationally-agreed list of PEPs
  • Tax evasion as a predicate crime for money laundering in every jurisdiction in the world
  • Suspended sentences to be abolished for money laundering – they should all serve time, and plenty of it
  • At least 25% of Board chairmen of regulated firms to have come through the compliance route rather than sales
  • The resurrection of the Money Laundering Advisory Committee
  • My appointment to the Money Laundering Advisory Committee (I’ll even bring luxury chocolate biscuits, as I understand that new government austerity measures have sealed the biscuit tin)
  • Best-seller, well, OK, adequate-seller status for the two volumes of “Suspicious Activity” already published as e-books
  • The removal of the USA from everyone’s equivalency lists, as we all know that it is not (that’s put the kibosh on my next US visa – I foresee a long wait at immigration)
  • The arrest and conviction of my friend Claire’s laundering ex-husband (see her heartfelt comments on previous posts here and here).

And here is a little (a very little) Christmas joke for you.  Did you hear about the thief who stole a calendar?  He got twelve months.  Boom boom!  After that, you will doubtless be relieved to hear that I will now take a short rest from blogging until the new year, as I strongly suspect that you will be taking a similar break from blog-reading.  I wish you all a very merry Christmas, and a laundering-free new year.

This entry was posted in General thoughts, Money laundering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AML I want for Christmas is…

  1. Graham Thomas says:

    Hi Susan

    Sorry to hear that the blog is having a rest … but it is a very well earned rest.

    I’m now waiting to see if Edward’s adventures (Part 2) make it into my Christmas Day “swag” (oops, perhaps not the best choice of words for an AML forum !!) .

    Anyway, I hope that you have a very enjoyable Christmas, and can perhaps enjoy some festive viewing that doesn’t include any AML sub-plots (I reckon that the Dr Who Christmas Special should be a fairly safe bet).

    Look forward to catching up with you again next year.Best wishes

    Graham

    • Hi Graham
      Well, I thought you all deserved a break from my ranting and obsession. I’ve been enjoying the usual Christmas favourites (I’m a big Morecambe and Wise fan) and my husband kindly bought me a “Mad Men” boxed set, but someone told me yesterday that the US series “The Wire” has money laundering in it (funny how the conversation always turns that way, even over the cold turkey), so I might have to take a look at that…!
      Thanks for all your support over the past year – it’s the personal interaction that makes my job so rewarding.
      Best wishes
      Susan

  2. Pingback: I ♥ the FATF (when they prove me right) | I hate money laundering

Leave a Reply

