Maybe someone IS listening

Could it be that someone really is listening to what I say?  In my last blog post, I said that I was waiting impatiently for the latest Corruption Perceptions Index – and lo!  I have just received an alert from Transparency International announcing that the CPI 2011 will be presented to the waiting world on 1 December – only six sleeps away!  This is a new development for TI: fanfaring the publication of various key indices and rankings.  I wonder whether it gets them more media coverage; it certainly gives me time to rootle out all the presentations I have recently prepared that will now need updating with the latest list.  (My predictions?  Am I brave enough?  Oh go on then: top spot still Denmark; bottom spot still Somalia; UK, Australia and Switzerland on the slide.)

Talking of presentations, I have been doing them for AML for about, heavens, sixteen years now.  And when I first started, I used to print delegate notes with six slides to a page – to save paper, as times were hard as a young AML trainer, starving in a garret, reusing staples, etc.  I then moved to three slides to a page, with notes space alongside.  And now I am getting ready for my latest MLRO workshop in Guernsey (can I just say again how much I love doing MLRO workshops – a whole day chewing the AML fat with like-minded people).  I printed out the first presentation in three-to-a-page format, and would you believe it, my arms seem to have shrunk.  No matter how I stretched, I couldn’t read those printouts.  So now I have gone for two-to-a-page.  Thankfully, as my eyesight weakens, my coffers can take the extra paper expenditure – cosmic swings and roundabouts.  (It’s like holidays: when you’re young you have plenty of time for them but no money, and later you have plenty of money for them but no time.)

This entry was posted in General thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe someone IS listening

  1. incaunipocrit says:

    Reblogged this on Vasile Roata.

  2. Pingback: Clean-billed Kiwis take top spot | I hate money laundering

Leave a Reply

